POP-X 2022 (Bacolod’s Biggest Hobby Convention)

I never thought that I would be back in the cosplay community, but here I am

A quick back story time!

I started cosplaying way back 2009, found some circle of friends and we created our cosplay group Hitsuzen. I was personally active both in cosplay and photography till 2012 then eventually because of adulting 101 I went MIA in majority of local conventions and group gatherings. Subsequently I worked abroad so I totally vanished from the community.

Then came the pandemic. I went back to Philippines (2020). I became a mother and then 2 years since I came home, a convention has finally popped up. The first and biggest event (in my hometown) since the Pandemic.

In a snap, everything, every memory, every moments came flashing back to me. That is when I realized that even after a decade I still love cosplay. This is my community. This is where I’ve always felt I belong and was truly happy.

Since it’s my first convention again after so many years I panicked a bit because I heard about the news way too late and had only a week left so preparing a proper costume was impossible. I still have some of my old cosplay costume but sadly they don’t fit me anymore lol. So I just went in with the closest “closet cosplay” I could pull off. The Totoro Kigurumi I used during his 6th month milestone shoot still fits my baby (because it was really big for him that time) so he had that while I decided to partner him as Kiki.

Anyways. Enough with the cheesy back stories. Now here are some of my personal snapshots from the POP-X event!

Funko Pop x Disney! So adorable 🥰

Legoland!

Gundams!

Star Wars of course!

I adore this Saint Seiya shrine 😮‍💨😮‍💨😮‍💨

Dragon Ball!

Final Fantasy!

Pikachu!

Kudos to the owner! Maaaaan of culture indeed!

Vintage Comics!

My favorite booth of all ❤️

Huhu I love her 😭😭

Card Trading Games!

Hutao Supremacy! 👻

The God Butcher! Such awesome cosplay sir! 🔥

Reunion with Razel after a decade literally, also former Hitsuzen member. Glad to see you again. ❤️

Hello ninong Stein lol. This is his comeback cosplay since 2016? And he won first place! He’s also a Hitsuzen member~

My little Totoro! 🤱🏻

Unfortunately I did not have much photos with the other cosplayers because adulting problems. I got tired so easily lol. Since this was my first convention again for years, my body wasn’t fully prepared 😂. Everyone was beautiful though I just wished I had the same energy 10 years ago 😅.

Photo from the events official photo booth~

•••

I am truly glad that events are finally coming back. I enjoyed POP-X despite the rush preparation and exhaustion. I am definitely looking forward for more cons. Hoping next time me and my baby can have more pair cosplays~

See you soon again everyone! Thank you for staying~

•••

Leave a comment